scenes from the weekend

Saturday morning I was up early for errands and happened upon an Estate sale at St. Joseph’s Church. They were selling some pretty incredible things (pew benches! organs! stained glass windows!) but I only made out with some miscellaneous glassware. The church has been boarded up for years but the interior is still beautiful, despite decay. After errands, the glorious weather demanded a bike ride and a late lunch at Outerlands. The open-faced pastrami sandwich was AMAZING.

The rest of the day was spent painting the living room, as I finally committed to a color. Our living room doesn’t get a ton of natural light, so even though I loved the medium grays I ultimately decided on Sherwin Williams Grayish (2nd swatch down in the fourth photo). And I couldn’t be happier with the result! But now I have no excuse for not hanging artwork on the walls…

Sunday was spent relaxing and enjoying the weather before making bacon-wrapped jalapeno poppers and running off to a Superbowl party. (For the poppers: mix softened cream cheese and shredded cheddar cheese, smear inside jalapeno halves, wrap with 1/3 slice of bacon, and secure with a toothpick. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.) Hope your weekend was wonderful!

6 Responses to “scenes from the weekend”


  1. 1 molly February 7, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    i love your grey walls! well done!

  2. 2 Jane Flanagan February 7, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I love the new wall colour – great choice! Lovely photographs.

  3. 3 caroline February 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    my best friend jenny makes these poppers for every party because they are my favorite!

  4. 5 Allison Suter February 8, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I’m a brand new reader by way of your comments on K.I.D. collective (just subscribed, woohoo!)

    I’m in love with your wall colour and colour coordinated bookshelf; Ah-ma-zing. Love your style!


  1. 1 Great Weather For The Weekend. | Catch Your Breath Trackback on February 20, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Leave a comment