scenes from the weekend

Nolan and I decided fairly last minute (Thursday night!) to get away for the weekend, and booked two nights at a little cottage just south of Mendocino. The weather was cool and foggy the whole time, perfect for a cozy relaxing weekend. We explored Mendocino Saturday morning and had a delicious brunch at the MacCallum House Inn, hiked to the Point Cabrillo lighthouse, then loaded up on groceries and headed back to the cottage. We spent the rest of the weekend in pajamas or bathing suits– reading, lounging in the hot tub, and sitting by the fire. It was pure bliss! I didn’t want to come home, but must say that I’m feeling fully recharged and ready to tackle the week. Hope your weekend was swell!

8 Responses to “scenes from the weekend”


  1. 1 Mallory August 2, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    cozy + relaxing = my favorite descriptive words for a weekend. plus – that lighthouse is so picturesque. & so different-looking from all the lighthouses that i frequently see in maine.

  2. 2 Jessica August 2, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I love Mendocino! My husband and I went there for my birthday this year and it was one of the most beautiful and relaxing places we have ever visited.

  3. 3 carolynn cecilia August 2, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I’ve been trying to get my mister to do a b&b weekend in Rockport and I think these photos have sealed the deal! I need me some lighthouse, small town, quiet time relaxation just like this.

  4. 4 caroline August 3, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    i hope you enjoyed your getaway!

  5. 5 roberta jane August 5, 2011 at 10:40 am

    this looks like a wonderful weekend break. i miss the northern california coast so much… must make it a priority to explore the oregon coast soon!

  6. 7 Ellen Fort (@ellenfork) September 10, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    that looks so fab. i’m planning a little trip this weekend for my bf and i… would you mind sharing the info on the little cottage you rented?

    thanks!
    Ellen

  7. 8 Daisy February 16, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    what a relaxing getaway. lovely photos


Leave a Reply

