scenes from… a camping trip

Last month I went on a camping trip with my husband and a few of our friends to Havasu Canyon in Arizona. We road-tripped from San Francisco in a minivan, which was surprisingly comfortable and spacious for the seven of us. After a 14-hour drive we stayed in a small town near the trailhead before waking up with the sun to embark on a 10-mile hike into the canyon. The hike was long but not that hard, and we were rewarded at the end by setting up camp next to a creek a few hundred yards away from one of the canyon’s four waterfalls. We spent the next three days exploring the canyon and swimming in the pools beneath the falls. It’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been– my photos don’t do it justice! Bottom line: it was an amazing trip. If you are into backpacking and camping, I’d absolutely recommend it.

More photos in my set here, or Nolan’s here.

{photos taken by me with a minolta x-370}

8 Responses to “scenes from… a camping trip”


  1. 1 caroline June 1, 2011 at 11:19 am

    this looks like such a fun adventure! sign me up.

  2. 2 Lauren June 1, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Wow! I wish we had something like this here in Australia – or at least in drivable distance from Sydney!Although, it does remind me of Indiana Jones 3, which makes it all that much cooler.

  3. 3 Suzanne June 2, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    What a cool trip! Wish I was there!

  4. 4 jayna June 3, 2011 at 11:58 am

    amazing! looks like an awesome vacation..can’t wait to head out west someday..

  5. 5 missy June 7, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    man, that is awesome. especially the waterfall and horses, makes you feel like a real rancher

  6. 6 Angelica May 7, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    My relatives every time say that I am wasting my time
    here at net, but I know I am getting experience
    everyday by reading thes good articles or reviews.

  7. 7 misspelled ebay May 25, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    Hi there, I found your website via Google whilst searching for a similar matter, your web site came up, it appears good.

    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it
    is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful when you continue this in future. A lot of other people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. 8 Treppenaufzug Kosten July 16, 2013 at 11:17 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the very same area of interest as yours and
    my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

