scenes from the weekend

Mom, if you’re reading, don’t worry, I always wear a helmet! Just not for the picture.

It seems almost unfair how nice the weather has been in San Francisco this week, considering many of you are dealing with below-freezing temperatures. Not that I’m trying to rub it in, just mentioning it as it motivated a bike shopping trip this weekend. The bike I’ve been riding I’ve had since I was 14 (it’s a tad small and has definitely seen better days), so for Christmas Nolan gave me an IOU to pick myself out a new bike! So this weekend we did some research, stopped in a few bike shops, and did test rides before choosing this beautiful blue Linus roadster sport. I was so excited that I took it for a spin through Golden Gate Park just before sunset, and it was glorious. So that was the big highlight of my weekend! Hope yours was swell.

11 Responses to “scenes from the weekend”


  1. 1 Emily January 25, 2011 at 7:34 am

    What a beautiful weekend! It is snow AGAIN in NYC!

  2. 2 Valerie January 25, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I love Linus bikes! Yours is lovely. I test drove them in Oakland over the summer and I still want one. You’ll have to let me know how it does on the SF hills. Did you get it from a store in the city?

    • 3 meghan January 25, 2011 at 9:56 am

      Sweet! I really love mine so far and would absolutely recommend a Linus bike. And although I haven’t attempted any crazy hills yet, so far I’m very pleased and think 3 speeds will be more than sufficient.
      I got it from Pedal Revolution (21st and South Van Ness) and I believe they’re the only shop that carries Linus bikes in the city. But they were wonderfully helpful and it always feels good to support a nonprofit that does good work in the community. :)

  3. 4 Emily January 25, 2011 at 9:55 am

    I have a cream Linus 3 speed mixte, and I love it!!!

  4. 5 Jayna January 25, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    what a beautiful bike!
    and a sweet Christmas present…good job, Nolan :)

  5. 6 Stef January 25, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I can’t wait to start riding my bike again! I’m jealous that it’s been so nice there. Looks like you had a great weekend!

  6. 7 Chaucee January 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    woo! you are one lucky gal. that is such a beauty of a bike.

  7. 8 Jane Flanagan January 26, 2011 at 6:42 am

    Hooray for new bikes! I love this photo of you too – so cute!

  8. 9 size too small January 26, 2011 at 10:30 am

    it’s so beautiful. i’d like to trade my current bike in for something like yours. lovely!

  9. 10 Kayla @ Exquisite Banana January 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I’m saving up for a linus. love the blue!

  10. 11 sarah j January 31, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    i have bike envy now :)


Leave a Reply

