scenes from the weekend

This was the weekend that summer finally arrived in San Francisco, and we tried to spend every waking minute of it outside. Saturday morning I walked the Alamo Square indie mart and flea market solo, and came home with a pretty gold bowl I plan to use as a catchall by the front door and a stack of vintage portraits. I’m not sure what I’ll do with them yet, but I had to bring them home with me! In the afternoon we met some friends in the Mission for the SF Street Food Festival where we braved long lines and stuffed ourselves silly. A few favorites were a Scotch egg from Purple Hibiscus, a Zilla dog from 4505 Meats, and a gourmet s’more from Kika’s Treats.

Banana Nutella pancakes for Sunday brunch (no time for a picture before I gobbled them down) at The Grind after a late night celebrating a friend’s “San Franniversary” and a quick trip to the top of Twin Peaks. No fog in sight meant lots of tourists and amazing views of the city. Sunday afternoon I met a new friend for a late lunch before heading to my first ever professional football game (her husband works for the 49ers and we scored free tickets). We didn’t make it through the whole game, but we did see Brett Favre get sacked!

About the random hand photo: I gave Sula’s paint and peel polish another try, and this time it lasted a whole day before I was unable to resist the urge to peel it off. I would call that a success! Time to get some more colors.

6 Responses to “scenes from the weekend”


  1. 1 Matrioshka August 23, 2010 at 11:35 am

    ha, all my San Francisco friends came out to the East Coast this weekend for my bachelorette party. Now I feel guilty that I made them miss their first real weekend of summer.

  2. 2 Mallory August 23, 2010 at 11:48 am

    I’d love to have a gourmet s’more at this very moment. Yum.

  3. 3 Jayna August 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I have to second the “yum” for gourmet s’mores!

    also, it took me a second to realize that oliver was not walking on the ceiling…that’s such a cool picture :)

  4. 4 Jane Flanagan August 23, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I love those vintage photos! And gourmet s’mores… yum!

  5. 5 casey August 25, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    i would so love to hit up the alamo flea market. someday, someday! looks like a fun weekend, glad the weather is finally cooperating.

  6. 6 Ragnhild Sigurdsdatter October 12, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    LOVE the photo of your cat! Great angle,kind of a “bird’s eye view”,so to speak!


Leave a Reply

