scenes from the weekend

After enjoying such great weather at Stinson Beach last weekend, we decided to return this weekend for a birthday picnic for our friend Eric. The forecast was 75 and sunny, but I must have jinxed it by putting on a swimsuit… It was cool and foggy, but that didn’t stop us from having a good time!

On Sunday I stopped by Hayes Valley Farm’s Fresh Produce Free-For-All where they were giving away unsold produce from farmer’s markets around the city. I grabbed some mushy peaches that would have otherwise been heading to a landfill or compost pile, perfect for making jam. And I finally had a chance to flip through Nancy Silverton’s Sandwich Book… I can’t wait to try some of her fancy sandwiches!

5 Responses to “scenes from the weekend”


  1. 1 Caroline August 9, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Ohmygod! I love sandwiches. I NEED that book!

    Caroline
    Red Glasses

  2. 2 caroline August 9, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    that is one awesome cat!

  3. 3 casey August 9, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    i’ve been so wanting to make my own jam but don’t want to feel like a domestic nerd. you make it seem cool enough to give it a go.

  4. 4 Mallory August 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I’ve been looking for some fancy sandwich recipes myself lately because I just bought an awesome panini press. It’s maybe my favorite kitchen purchase of all time. Nothing beats a panini.

    Also – the expression on ?your? cat’s face is amazing.

  5. 5 indie.tea August 9, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    What a lovely-looking weekend…I adore fierce-eyed marmalade-colored cat!


Leave a Reply

