food, lately

Mexican Tortilla Salad – A delicious, healthy, and hearty salad… just what I needed after a week of crappy eating. I bet this would be tasty with the addition of some diced southwestern-style chicken, too.

BBQ Chicken Pizza – Pizza is one of my favorite things to make, and I’m always on the lookout for new recipes to try. And holy smokes, this was good. Two thumbs up.

Sweet and Salty Cake – I tried this recipe from Baked bakery in NYC for Nolan’s birthday last weekend. If you love chocolate, you’ll flip for this insanely decadent three-layer cake. It might be the best cake I’ve ever had. BUT it was also the most labor intensive cake I’ve ever attempted, and shortly after this picture was taken the top layer broke in half and started sliding off. I thought if I put it in the fridge the icing would harden up and everything would stay put. Wishful thinking… I ended up sticking skewers into the cake to keep it together. It wasn’t the prettiest cake, but it certainly was tasty. Once my ego has a chance to heal, I will try, try again!

Tell me, have you tried any new recipes lately?

10 Responses to “food, lately”


  1. 1 dem March 23, 2010 at 11:14 am

    all of this food looks absolutely delicious; food i would love to make for me and my husband, b. :) thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Emily March 23, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    All that food looks amazing! Puts my lunch of carrot soup and bread to shame!

  3. 5 Karen March 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Ooh, that cake sounds really good. Maybe this will have to be attempted (in some format!) this weekend!

    Last night my friend made us this recipe and it was awesome: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=833317. Super easy too! And healthy. Can’t get better than that :)

  4. 6 Jane Flanagan March 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    That salad looks amazing!

  5. 7 jen jafarzadeh March 24, 2010 at 8:53 am

    thanks for the salad tip — need a new go-to lunch. looks delicious! I’m super impressed you made the sweet + salty cake. My friend made that Baked recipe (and she went to pastry school) and she said it was an intense recipe. So decadent and amazing though!

  6. 8 Justine March 24, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Ohhh! YUM! it all looks delicious!

  7. 9 Stacy March 31, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Lately I have not been able to eat enough avocados. I love the site the salad is from, too. =) That cake sounds fantastic. I love me a ridiculous dessert project!

    Next time you make the BBQ pizza, add sliced banana peppers. Mmmmmm. We love a similar version with mock dock.

    I made fresh pasta for the first time last week but didn’t get photos. I may have to make it again and take pictures so I can post it since it was super delicious.

  8. 10 ไวอากร้า October 2, 2014 at 6:36 am

    An optometrist receives optometry (OD) degree after completing four years of optometry school.
    Writing mission statements is essential yet slightly tricky part.

    Also if the electrical fittings are not done
    properly then these can further lead to raise electrical issues and you would be spending your hard earned money each time when a problem arises.


Leave a Reply

