sweet tooth

DSC_8704

I attempted to make macarons last night. The first batch deflated when I removed them from the oven, stuck to the parchment, and fell apart when I tried to remove them. The second batch was only slightly more successful. So instead of two dozen macarons, I ended up with 16. Only three of which looked good enough to take a picture. Ha. On the bright side, they tasted pretty good (thanks to a rich ganache filling). Have any of you made macarons before? Got a good recipe or helpful tips/tricks for success? It would be much appreciated! :)

And while I’m on the topic of sweets, check out this adorable cupcake my friend Ryan made for Halloween. (Cell phone photo, excuse the quality.)

IMG00089
5 Responses to “sweet tooth”


  1. 1 Karen November 8, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Ugh, macarons are heavenly, but so difficult to make! I’m actually a pretty good cook/baker, but have only had them turn out 2 of 4 times. I use the Martha Stewart recipe (here: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/parisian-macaroons). My tips involve grinding the almonds in the food processor so they’re super fine; whipping the egg whites for a really long time–but then once you incorporate the other ingredients, barely touching them; and using a Silpat liner on the cookie tray.

    Take the advice with a grain of salt, though, since my success rate is only 50% :)

    • 2 meghan November 9, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      Thanks, Karen. The measurements for Martha’s recipe differ from the recipe I was using, so I will give hers a try. And I will definitely use a Silpat liner. Thanks for the tips!

  2. 3 painted fish studio November 11, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    yum.

    have you seen this book? i’ve got it on my wish list purely because it looks pretty!

  3. 5 Katie November 19, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    I’ve used this recipe twice and it works great!

    http://giverslog.com/?p=1089


Leave a Reply

