the decemberists concert

decemberists

Last night Nolan and I went to see The Decemberists in Raleigh. Hands down, best concert I’ve been to. They performed “Hazards of Love” (their recently released rock opera) in its entirety for the first set, and played some of their older popular songs during the second set. And a fantastic cover of Heart’s “Crazy On You”. Seriously, better than the real thing (and I love me some Heart). If you get a chance to see them live, go! You won’t be disappointed.

7 Responses to “the decemberists concert”


  1. 1 Marsá Musha McNutt June 5, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Meghan. My husband is so jealous of you. He completely loves The Decemberists and we weren’t able to make it to the show in Raleigh last night. He is going to be sad to hear that it was such a great show (not that he expected anything different!)

  2. 2 Michele June 5, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Oh my goodness, that sounds incredible! I love The Decemberists and “Crazy On You” is a rocking song! Heart Rules! You are so lucky!

  3. 3 Rachel (Heart of Light) June 5, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    The Decemberists are so good live! I got to see them at the Hollywood Bowl a couple years ago and it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. They played with the LA philharmonic and it was amazing!

  4. 4 nole @ oh so beautiful paper June 5, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I’m going to see them Monday here in DC! I’ve seen them three times before (including during their summer tour playing with different regional symphonies a couple of years ago) and they just get better each time. Plus I love the new album, and am so excited to see the songs played live!

  5. 5 Rachel Follett June 5, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Nice! I saw them perform in Portland and I loved it! I gained so much more appreciation for them after wards.

  6. 6 Kristina - no penny for them & mostly berlin June 7, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    woould love to get the chance to see them play live! hope they’ll come to berlin sometime in the not so distant future :)

  7. 7 Kim June 8, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I don’t know much about the Decemberists, but this is a really great band photo! And I’m super impressed that they covered “Crazy On You.” Heart’s not an easy band to take on! That’s awesome.


Leave a Reply

