weekend in asheville

asheville

Although we’re spending Christmas with the in-laws this year, the hub and I wanted to squeeze in a visit with my family before the holidays, so we all snuck away to Asheville this past weekend. Despite being cold, wet, and windy we had a great time exploring the city.

Asheville has a large art community, as evidenced by the number of galleries we saw while walking downtown. I especially enjoyed walking through Kress Emporium and Woolworth’s, where dozens of booths displayed fine art, jewelry, and ceramics from various regional artists. I will highlight a few new {to me} artists in the next day or so.

I couldn’t believe how many antique and second-hand stores Asheville has. I would have loved to gone in every single one but our time was limited. A few favorites were Voltage Records (this shop had an incredible record collection – it’s too bad we don’t have a record player), Captain’s Bookshelf (a well-organized bookstore specializing in fine and rare books), and Studio 5 Imports (a cool antique shop with all sorts of vintage collectibles). Another highlight was a delightful little boutique called Minx, where I bought my mom a cute pair of earrings (and would have bought a few things for myself if it wasn’t right before Christmas!).

All in all, a great weekend! I can’t wait to go back and hit some of the places we missed this time around. Any recommendations?

{paper dresses window display at Minx, Voltage Records}
2 Responses to “weekend in asheville”


  1. 1 Alexandra P. December 22, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    My husband + I were married in Asheville last year, while we were living in North Carolina {we’re in TN now}. We LOVE it. Your post introduced me to some new places to shop – I love Woolworth’s and have bought some fun art and sweet jewelry there. I’ve not been to the other places yet, though, so thanks for the recs!

    I can definitely suggest some great food – Mela is a wonderful Indian restaurant. They have a yummy buffet at lunch. Love their samosas for an appetizer.

    We had Sisters McMullen’s cupcakes at our reception. Cannot go wrong with any of their flavors. Their pimento cheese or egg salad sandwiches are tasty too! Always try to go to Early Girl Eatery and/or Tupelo Honey while we’re there too. Pretty much don’t do anything in Asheville besides eat, but we always make up for it by walking around down town.

    Looking forward to see what other people might recommend in the area.

  2. 2 Jessica December 30, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Early Girl Eatery is a must! Also check out Frock for clothes, might be a little pricey for some items but always fun to look, and there is another store right beside it that has more of an Urban Outfitters look. I live in Hickory but am headed to Asheville tomorrow night to catch Donna the Buffalo!! Asheville is a great town, so much to do it’s a new adventure everytime.


Leave a Reply

